The first library in Cordova began as a “reading room” within the cozy walls of the Red Dragon. Rev. Eustace Ziegler thought it important to offer the men working on the Copper River and Northwest Railway proper recreational opportunities and ran an informal lending library in the clubhouse. “A fireplace in the center of the room was kept burning for cheer,” stated Ziegler.
Located on donated railroad property, the Red Dragon still stands as a testament to Ziegler’s efforts. In June of 1925 the women’s guild of St. George’s Episcopal Church opened the book collection to the public creating Cordova’s first public library. Since that time the library has occupied the Adams building and the Windsor Hotel before moving to the Centennial Building in 1971. In November 2015 the library moved to The Cordova Center, a spectacular multi-purpose facility designed to meet the needs of Cordovans well into the future!